Toepel Elected as Caucus Chair of PA House of Representatives
HARRISBURG – Rep. Marcy Toepel (R- Montgomery) has been elected to serve as Republican Caucus chairwoman of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives for the 2016-17 legislative session.

“During my life, I have had the pleasure of filling a number of private and public sector positions that aided me in serving as a state representative for the past six years. I am eager to use the skills and experiences I gained to serve the caucus and all residents of the Commonwealth in the position of caucus chair,” Toepel said.

The responsibilities of caucus chairwoman include conducting all Republican Caucus meetings and notifying members when bills they are sponsoring are scheduled for a House vote, and also if amendments are posted to their legislation. She will inform members of the session schedule and of legislation scheduled for floor votes. In addition, Toepel will participate in leadership discussions and help to set the House agenda.

Joining Toepel on the House leadership team for the 2017-18 session include Speaker-designee Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny), Majority Leader Dave Reed (R-Indiana), Majority Whip Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster), Appropriations Chairman Stan Saylor (R-York), Caucus Policy Chairman Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin), Caucus Administrator Kurt Masser (R-Columbia/Montour/Northumberland) and Caucus Secretary Donna Oberlander (R-Armstrong/ Clarion/Forest).

The House Republican Caucus will grow to 122 members and control the House for the fourth consecutive legislative session, which begins Dec. 1. Members will be sworn into office for the 2017-18 session on Jan. 3, 2017.

Representative Marcy Toepel
147th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact: Alison Evans
717.260.6206 /
Share |